Gentlemen, there’s no fighting in here, this is the meditation room

December 6, 2012

or: how I learned to stop worrying and love the fact that I’m stuck in the Albany airport. (a photo essay)

A little backstory: flying a redeye into Logan Airport, I was supposed to have a layover at JFK, however, nothing had landed in in JFK that morning due to FOG (that’s right, I flew FROM San Francisco TO New York, and got delayed due to …fog.)  so the rerouted us to Albany, NY, and at first I was upset to be stuck in …ugh…albany, but then I figured “well…I’m probably smart enough to figure out how to get to Boston from here without going back to JFK where there’s a morning’s worth of air traffic backed up.”  I slipped into a zen-like state, possibly brought on by sleep deprivation and decided to proceed joyously knowing that I would be in Massachusetts soon, surrounded by wonderful people.  And in the process I snapped some photos thinking “this will make a great blog post sometime.”  three weeks later…

I did not have time to check out the meditation room, I was busy trying to find out how to get to Boston without going to NYC first.

I did not have time to check out the meditation room, but this did influence the title of this post, which I feel was worth it.

good thing the Albany airport doubles as an art museum.  Look at this beautiful hanging glass!  Maybe that's why people decided it's a fine place to stop and meditate.

good thing the Albany airport doubles as an art museum. Look at this beautiful hanging glass! Maybe that’s why people decided it’s a fine place to stop and meditate.

and then I looked up and saw this.

and then I looked up and saw this.

they also have willow tied together with twine!  (for perspective, that's my briefcase in the bottom left hand corner)

they also have willow tied together with twine! (for perspective, that’s my briefcase in the bottom left hand corner)

a close up view of the willow and twine.

a close up view of the willow and twine.

eventually I was able to convince Cape Cod Air to take me to Boston on this plane (the smallest I've ever been on).  It took lots of running around an airport that I could have been meditating in, but I was able to make it.

eventually I was able to convince Cape Cod Air to take me to Boston on this plane (the smallest I’ve ever been on). It took lots of running around an airport that I could have been meditating in, but I was able to make it.

on the trip from Albany to Boston I could make out the geography of New England in a way that I found far more thrilling than I expected to.  Look!  I used to go swimming there!

on the trip from Albany to Boston I could make out the geography of New England in a way that I found far more thrilling than I expected to. Look! I used to go swimming there!

I even saw the fog that prevented us from landing in NYC.  But we did land in Boston soon after, and I had a lovely breakfast with my mother and spent the rest of the week in the company of good friends...

I even saw the fog that prevented us from landing in NYC. But we did land in Boston soon after, and I had a lovely breakfast with my mother and spent the rest of the week in the company of good friends…

Leave a Reply

