A word on this blog post-roadtrip:

October 7, 2012

Turns out, Northampton and Santa Cruz have at least one thing in common. Ye Old Watering Hole. Ceilidh was pretty psyched.

Well, Ceilidh Kane has left the road trip, and I have some big news.  (drum roll please)  It’s looking like I’m going to be moving to Santa Cruz (I know I kind of posted about this earlier, but this post has far more sentences, so it felt worth repeating).  It’s got everything I had on the checklist: it’s by the ocean (really can’t get much closer), it’s got a downtown that reminds me of Northampton, but just a little bigger, it’s near a major city, it’s got a university close by (a university that is hiring a poetry professor.  HELLO!), and it would be a totally great town for an Art Bar.  I’m not saying it’s the town where it’s definitely going to happen, but I think it’s going to be my base of operations for a while.  I’ve found a place where I can be on a week to week lease, so I can’t look for a more flexible living situation than that, and I’ll be moving in on the 12th.  So between now and then I’ll just be frantically applying for jobs and trying to find every way I can to increase my chances of teaching poetry at UC Santa Cruz.

I know what you’re thinking: “What now? What will happen to this blog that I’ve been checking, and why haven’t you called home?!”

Don’t worry mom, I’ll keep blogging.  But I’m looking to change up what I use this strange internet medium for.

As an institution, the Art Bar necessarily has to be a connector and supporter of different artists and arts organizations.  So I think it makes sense to use this space as a place to talk about different arts events/orgs/schools/happenings and my interactions with them as an outsider coming to Santa Cruz.

This idea has been brewing for a while, but it really came to a head when I realized today that I got word of some really cool opportunities for artists in Massachusetts.  If you’re still in Massachusetts and you’re reading this, check these out: a chance to help save up for your dream, TWO grass roots projects to fund your art, a grass roots project to fund awesomeness, and a state agency that wants to sit down with you and tell you how to get money.

There you go.  Don’t say I never did anything for you.

Leave a Reply

