Poem 2: Misconception

September 13, 2012

What am I doing in Santa Fe
where the sky wants to rub
it’s whole blue belly across
the entirety of the landscape to feel the hills
rub like the rumble strips on the side of the highway

where am I going searching for a tortilla to give new language
to the word tortilla that I could never find in New England,
impossible as maple syrup

outside of New England.  Why am I wantering around Fiesta
like wonderbread in an exclusively whole wheat aisle when what I really want to be doing
is love, and love,
and loving you.

2 Responses to “Poem 2: Misconception”

  1. Nate Devaney said

    Heard you were on your way to the west coast from Uncle Nat & Aunt Audrey this evening. Are you headed to LA, SF or parts unknown?
    Uncle Nate

    • Hi Uncle Nate! Right now the West Coast section of my trip is really up in the air as far as dates and plans, but I will most definitely be in LA at some point, and I’d love to catch up. I made the trip out this far (to colorado, I’m a little behind on blog posts) with my friend Arthur, and another friend of mine, Ceilidh (pronounced Kay-lee ) is flying into town on wednesday and we’ll be doing the second half of the trip together. So I should be able to send you some kind of update next week with specifics. Best,
      -Kevin

Leave a Reply

